Latest Scam Alerts

Beware of phone scammers impersonating staff of Department of Health
2021-11-24


Defrauding Tricks

Members of the public have recently received pre-recorded voice calls with caller ID “+852 2152 2152” or “+800 2152 2152”, purporting to be made through the Government Vaccination Programme and Vaccination Subsidy Schemes hotline of the Department of Health (DH) (2152 2152).  The caller, impersonating a DH staff, claims that the call recipients cannot receive a third dose of vaccine because of the discrepancy found in their personal particulars kept for the registration of the first and second doses of vaccine.  The calls are then forwarded to another fraudster impersonating a Mainland law enforcement officer, who attempts to gather their personal information (including their names, HKID card numbers, dates of birth, etc.).

 

Our Advice

  • To help detect telephone deception, the Office of the Communications Authority stipulates that telephone operators are required to insert a “+” sign in the calling number display of mobile phones as a prefix for all incoming calls originating from outside Hong Kong. 
  • “800” is currently used in Hong Kong as the first three digits of a 9-digit phone number (i.e. 800 xxx xxx), but not as a prefix followed by an 8-digit phone number;
  • If you receive unknown calls with the prefix “+852” or “+800”, it indicates that the calling numbers are disguised as local numbers and it is probably a phone scam.
  • DH will provide relevant information to verify the identity of both parties if they need to contact you.  DH will not ask you for any sensitive personal information such as bank account details and PIN codes; 
  • If callers claim themselves as staff of DH and ask for your personal information and bank account details under various pretexts, verify the identity of relevant parties by calling the Government Vaccination Programme and Vaccination Subsidy Schemes hotline (2125 2152);
  • Do not disclose to strangers your personal information, bank account details, online banking accounts and passwords, etc.;
  • Remind your relatives and friends to stay alert against deception;
  • If in doubt, please call the “Anti-Scam Helpline 18222” for enquiries.

最新騙案警示

慎防冒充衞生署職員電話騙案
2021-11-24



手法
近日有市民報稱收到「
+852 2152 2152」或「+800 2152 2152」來電,冒充衞生署政府疫苗注射計劃和疫苗資助計劃查詢熱線(2152 2152)。該偽冒衞生署職員的預設語音來電訛稱市民於較早前接種第一及二針新冠疫苗時登記的個人資料記錄有誤,因此未能接種第三針補充針。電話隨後轉駁至另一名假冒內地執法人員的騙徒,意圖騙取其個人資料(包括姓名、香港身份證號碼及出生日期等)。

警方呼籲
  • 為協助識破電話騙案,通訊事務管理局辦公室規定各電話營辦商必須在流動電話的「來電顯示」中加入「+」號,以識別源自香港境外的來電;
  • 「800」字首是香港使用中的號碼,但總共是9位數字號碼(即800 xxx xxx),而並非「800」字首後再加上8位數字號碼;
  • 如接到「+852」或「+800」字首的陌生來電,即表示該來電是假扮本地來電,很可能是詐騙電話。
  • 衞生署如需要聯絡市民,一般會提供相關資料以核實雙方的身分,但不會要求市民提供任何敏感的個人資料,如銀行帳戶資料及密碼;
  • 如收到自稱衞生署人員來電,以不同理由指示市民交出個人資料及銀行戶口資料,應該主動查證及致電政府疫苗注射計劃和疫苗資助計劃查詢熱線(2125 2152)確認有關人員的身份;
  • 切勿向陌生人透露個人資料、銀行戶口資料、網上銀行帳戶及密碼等;
  • 提醒身邊親友提防受騙;
  • 如有懷疑,應致電「防騙易熱線18222」查詢。