Latest Scam Alerts

Beware of Telephone Deception by Impersonating Staff of Department of Health
2021-10-04

Beware of Telephone Deception by Impersonating Staff of Department of Health
Defrauding Tricks

Recently, the Police have received public enquires about incoming calls ( +852 2836 0077) claiming to be from Hong Kong’s Department of Health (DH). The last 8 digits of the caller number is the same as the hotline (2836 0077) of DH’s Client Relations Division. Callers claim that the victims have visited certain places and are therefore subject to quarantine. When the victims deny visiting such places, the calls are forwarded to another fraudster impersonating Mainland law enforcement officer. The fraudster claim that the identities of the victims have been stolen for illegal purposes and ask them to provide their bank account numbers and PIN codes for investigation.

Our Advice
  • To help detect telephone deception, the Office of the Communications Authority stipulates that telephone operators are required to insert a “+” sign in the calling number display of mobile phones as a prefix for all incoming calls originating from outside Hong Kong. If you receive unknown calls with the prefix “+852” which appears to be from a local number, you should be alert to the possible telephone deception.
  • DH will not ask members of the public to provide such personal information as bank account details and PIN codes;
  • If callers claim themselves as staff of DH and request for your personal information and bank account details under various pretexts, call the Centre for Health Protection hotline (2125 1111 / 2125 1122) to verify their identity;
  • Beware of any suspicious website demanding your bank account details and PIN codes. Close it immediately and do not disclose any of your information;
  • Do not disclose to strangers your personal information, bank account details, online banking accounts and PIN codes, etc.;
  • Remind your relatives and friends to stay alert against deception;
  • If in doubt, please call the Police’s Anti-Scam Helpline 18222 for advice.

最新骗案警示

提防假冒卫生署职员电话骗案
2021-10-04

提防假冒卫生署职员电话骗案
手法

近日,警方收到多名市民查询,指收到自称香港卫生署的来电,电话号码为「 +852 2836 0077」,最后八位数字与卫生署顾客关系科热线( 2836 0077)相同。来电者声称受害人因曾到访某地方而需接受检疫。当受害人否认曾到访该地方后,电话便转驳至另一名假冒内地执法人员的骗徒。该骗徒指受害人的身份被盗用作非法用途,要求受害人提供银行户口号码及密码作调查之用。

警方呼吁
  • 为协助识破电话骗案,通讯事务管理局办公室规定各电话营办商必须在流动电话的「来电显示」中加入「+」号,以识别源自香港境外的来电。如接到「+852」字头的陌生来电,即表示该来电是假扮本地来电,很可能是诈骗电话;
  • 卫生署亦不会要求巿民提供银行帐户等个人资料及密码;
  • 如收到自称卫生署人员来电,以不同理由指示市民交出个人资料及银行户口资料,应该主动查证及致电卫生防护中心提供的热线(2125 1111/2125 1122)确认有关人员的身份。
  • 如遇上可疑网站,要求输入银行户口资料及密码,切勿提供任何资料,并立即关闭。
  • 切勿向陌生人透露个人资料、银行户口资料、网上银行帐户及密码等;
  • 提醒身边亲友提防受骗。
  • 如有怀疑,应致电防骗易热线18222查询。