Latest Scam Alerts

Watch out for scam calls purportedly from ADCC
2021-10-04

Watch out for scam calls purportedly from ADCC

The Anti-Deception Coordination Centre (ADCC) would like to remind members of the public to guard against incoming calls pretending to be from ADCC, through which scammers attempt to obtain your personal information, bank account details and money by deception.

Recently, the Police have received public enquires about scam calls whose numbers start with “+852” and end with “18222” (+852 XXX1 8222). There are a wide variety of defrauding tricks, for example, impersonating staff of ADCC, courier companies, telecommunications companies, banks, Immigration Department and genetic testing companies. Eventually, the calls are forwarded to fraudsters impersonating Mainland law enforcement officers, who claim that the victims have violated the laws on the Mainland and request for their bank account numbers and PIN codes for investigation.

The Office of the Communications Authority stipulates that telephone operators are required to insert a “+” sign in the calling number display of mobile phones as a prefix for all incoming calls originating from outside Hong Kong. If you receive an unknown call with the prefix “+852”, it is a scam call pretending to be from a local number.

ADCC will neither call local residents using phone numbers with the prefix “+852” nor request for your bank account numbers and PIN codes. If you receive suspected fraudulent calls, you should stay alert. If in doubt, please call the “Anti Scam Helpline 18222” for advice.

最新骗案警示

提防假冒反诈骗协调中心诈骗来电
2021-10-04

提防假冒反诈骗协调中心诈骗来电

反诈骗协调中心提醒市民,慎防冒充本中心的来电,意图骗取市民的个人资料、银行户口资料及金钱。

近日,警方收到市民查询,指收到字首为「+852」,而最后五位数字为「18222」的诈骗电话 (+852 XXX1 8222) 。当中的行骗手法五花八门,包括假冒反诈骗协调中心、速递公司、电讯商、银行、入境处及基因检测公司。电话最后被转驳至假冒内地执法人员的骗徒,指受害人在内地触犯法例,要求受害人提供银行户口号码及密码作调查之用。

通讯事务管理局办公室规定各电话营办商必须在流动电话的「来电显示」中加入「+」号,以识别源自香港境外的来电。如接到「+852」字头的陌生来电,即表示该来电是假扮本地来电。

本中心绝不会以 「+852」字头的电话致电本地市民,或要求市民提供银行户口号码及密码,倘收到怀疑虚假电话,应提高警觉。如有怀疑,应致电「防骗易热线18222」查询。