Latest Scam Alerts

Beware of Phone Scammers Impersonating Staff of Communications Authority or Office of the Communications Authority
2021-10-04

Beware of Phone Scammers Impersonating Staff of Communications Authority or Office of the Communications Authority
Defrauding Tricks

Recently, the Police have received public enquires about incoming calls ( +852 2961 6333) purporting to be made by the Communications Authority (CA) or the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). The last 8 digits of the caller number is the same as OFCA’s General Enquiry Hotline (2961 6333). Callers claim that the victims’ telephone services would be suspended because of overdue charges or anomalies detected in the use of telephone services, or allege that the telephone numbers have been used in sending scores of illegal text messages, etc. The calls are then forwarded to another fraudster posing as a Mainland law enforcement officer, and the victims are requested to provide their bank account numbers and PIN codes for investigation.

Our Advice
  • To help detect telephone deception, the OFCA stipulates that telephone operators are required to insert a “+” sign in the calling number display of mobile phones as a prefix for all incoming calls originating from outside Hong Kong. If you receive an unknown call with the prefix “+852”, it is likely to be a scam call pretending to be from a local number.
  • CA or OFCA will neither inform members of the public by phone of anomalies detected in the use of telephone services, nor request them to provide such personal information as bank account details and PIN codes;
  • Do not disclose to strangers your personal information, bank account details, online banking accounts and PIN codes, etc.;
  • Remind your relatives and friends to stay vigilant against deception.
  • If in doubt, please call the “Anti-Scam Helpline 18222” for advice.
Related link by OFCA
https://www.ofca.gov.hk/en/consumer_focus/alerts/reminder_to_members_of_the_public_on_suspected_fra/index.html

最新骗案警示

提防假冒通讯局或通讯办职员电话骗案
2021-10-04

提防假冒通讯局或通讯办职员电话骗案
手法

近日,警方收到多名市民查询,指收到自称通讯事务管理局(通讯局)或通讯事务管理局办公室(通讯办)的来电,电话号码为「 +852 2961 6333」,最后八位数字与通讯办一般查询热线(2961 6333)相同。来电者声称受害人的电话服务因有欠款或曾被异常使用而将被停止,或声称该电话号码曾发出大量违法讯息等。其后,电话便转驳至另一名假冒内地执法人员的骗徒,要求受害人提供银行户口号码及密码作调查之用。

警方呼吁
  • 为协助识破电话骗案,通讯办规定各电话营办商必须在流动电话的「来电显示」中加入「+」号,以识别源自香港境外的来电。如接到「+852」字头的陌生来电,即表示该来电是假扮本地来电,很可能是诈骗电话;
  • 通讯局或通讯办职员不会就电话服务异常情况致电市民,亦不会要求市民提供银行帐户等个人资料及密码;
  • 切勿向陌生人透露个人资料、银行户口资料、网上银行帐户及密码等;
  • 提醒身边亲友提防受骗;
  • 如有怀疑,应致电防骗易热线18222查询。
通讯办相关连结
https://www.ofca.gov.hk/sc/consumer_focus /alerts/reminder_to_members_of_the_public_on_suspected_fra/index.html