Latest Scam Alerts

Beware of Phone Scammers Impersonating Staff of Department of Health
2021-10-04

Beware of Phone Scammers Impersonating Staff of Department of Health
Defrauding Tricks

Recently, the Police have received public enquires about incoming calls prefixed with “+852” purporting to be made by staff of Hong Kong’s Department of Health (DH). Callers claim that the Covid-19 vaccine taken by the victims has lost its effectiveness. The calls are then forwarded to another fraudster impersonating Mainland law enforcement officer, who attempts to gather victims’ personal information, bank account details and passwords.

Our Advice
  • To help detect telephone deception, the Office of the Communications Authority stipulates that telephone operators are required to insert a “+” sign in the calling number display of mobile phones as a prefix for all incoming calls originating from outside Hong Kong. If you receive unknown calls with the prefix “+852” which appears to be from a local number, you should be alert to the possible telephone deception.
  • DH will provide relevant information to verify the identity of both parties if they need to contact you. DH will not ask you for any sensitive personal information such as bank account details and PIN codes;
  • If callers claim themselves as staff of DH and ask for your personal information and bank account details under various pretexts, call the Centre for Health Protection hotline (2125 1111 / 2125 1122) for verification;
  • Do not disclose to strangers your personal information, bank account details, online banking accounts and passwords, etc.;
  • Remind your relatives and friends to stay alert against deception;
  • If in doubt, please call the “Anti-Scam Helpline 18222” for advice.

最新骗案警示

提防假冒卫生署职员电话骗案
2021-10-04

提防假冒卫生署职员电话骗案
手法

最近,警方接获市民查询有关「+852」字头,假冒香港卫生署职员的来电,声称市民已接种的新冠疫苗经已失效,电话随后转驳至另一名假冒内地执法人员的骗徒,意图骗取其个人及银行帐户资料、密码。

警方呼吁
  • 为协助识破电话骗案,通讯事务管理局办公室规定各电话营办商必须在流动电话的「来电显示」中加入「+」号,以识别源自香港境外的来电。如接到「+852」字头的陌生来电,即表示该来电是假扮本地来电,很可能是诈骗电话;
  • 卫生署如需要联络市民,一般会提供相关资料以核实双方的身分,但不会要求市民提供任何敏感的个人资料,如银行帐户资料及密码;
  • 如收到自称卫生署人员来电,以不同理由指示市民交出个人资料及银行户口资料,应该主动查证及致电卫生防护中心提供热线(2125 1111/2125 1122)确认有关人员的身份;
  • 切勿向陌生人透露个人资料、银行户口资料、网上银行帐户及密码等;
  • 提醒身边亲友提防受骗;
  • 如有怀疑,应致电「 防骗易热线 18222 」查询。